1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aircraft Config And Air File

Discussion in 'Modeling' started by Brother23, 2/12/06.

1. Brother23

Brother23

germany
    After climbing over problems and succesfully helped by the comrades
    in the forum I have an additional question.

Now that I have the MDL file....and testing it in FSX..there is nothing
    to see.

I´m technically seen a total newbie to flightsims.

But I saw that every plane has to additional files beside models
    and textures:

AIRCRAFT CONFIG AND AIR FILE

How to I create this both.

In the starting lines of sime AIRCRAFT CONFIG I had the feeling that
    there could be a program to puts out this data.

So how can I get the bird flying?

Greetings
  2. Nodd

Nodd

us-connecticut
    As you're just starting out, like me, I'd suggest using one of the existing FSX aircraft as a starting point. Choose an aircraft that is similar to your project aircraft then copy its entire folder. Rename it to whatever your project aircraft is called.

In the model folder replace the MDL file with yours (ignor the _interior.mdl for now). Edit the model.cfg file & change the following field:

[models]
    normal=youraircraftmdlname

Save the model.cfg file.

Next edit the aircraft.cfg file & change the names in these fields:

[fltsim.0]
    title=youraircraftname
    ui_manufacturer="youraircraftmanufacturer"
    ui_type="youraircraftname"

Most default FSX aircraft have multiple versions each with a different paint scheme. For now you should remove these by deleting the following sections of the aircraft.cfg file:

[fltsim.1]
    [fltsim.2]
    [fltsim.3]
    etc

Stop deleting stuff when you get to the [General] section. Save the aircraft.cfg file.