1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Conversion to FSX

Discussion in 'Other' started by catdip, 25 Sep 2008.

  1. catdip

    catdip

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    unitedstates
    Has anyone converted aircraft to FSX from prior versions, such as FS2002 or FS2000? If it is possible, how is done?
  2. FelixFFDS

    FelixFFDS

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    1,614
    Country:
    puertorico
    You cannot convert a compiled (true) FS-X model to earlier versions. The MDL formats are incompatible.
  3. sruddy

    sruddy

    Joined:
    17 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    us-alaska
    He wants to go from 8 or 9 to 10.

    Have you tried? Supposed to be somewhat compatible ;)
    Never tried so I do not no how well the compatibility works in this respect.
  4. N2056

    N2056

    Joined:
    6 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    401
    Country:
    unitedstates
    Actually, it is very do-able, but...only if you have the original file from the design program (known as the source file).
  5. catdip

    catdip

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    unitedstates
    Tried using the Corsair from FS2002, merely moving aircraft file to FSX. It shows on the list of aircraft. When selected, a no visible model warning appears. In flight, it is invisible from the outside. The indide is visible instrument panel without gauges. Sounds are there, flaps, gear, engine. (It launches with no fuel.) Checking the fuel and payload reveals a negative amount of fuel, which cannot be changed. It will be somewhat controllable in a nose down dive, but the airspeed is way off, almost at a stall.

    Appears sounds are correct, problem with gauges, model, and air files.

    If the model between versions is incompatable, is it possible to change formats with only the files from the prior version of FS alone?
  6. decapod

    decapod

    Joined:
    2 Apr 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    england
    Make sure you have Bloom turned off in the display options - some non-FSX models don't show if it is turned on.
  7. n4gix

    n4gix Resource contributor

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    9,915
    Country:
    unitedstates
    If you enjoy trying to pound square objects into round holes, by all means continue! :rolleyes:

    The fact is that FS2002 models and previous are simply incompatible with FSX. Even if they do load, most of the animations will be INOP.
  8. catdip

    catdip

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    unitedstates
    All:

    Thanks for the feedback. The multiple problems caused by importing older versions is an example of what not to do.

Share This Page