1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creating A Library with Objects Designed Using FSDS

Discussion in 'Library Creator XML' started by docg, 25/1/07.

1. docg

docg

us-arkansas
    I'm new to this so with that said here's what I'm trying to do.

A few years ago I used FSDS V1.xxx to create scenery objects. Now, I'd like to make these scenery objects available in FSX via the object placer.

I'm trying to use FSDS V3 to create mdl files that are recognized by Library Creator and will compile into libraries.

I load the objects into FSDS V3. Then I use the Create Scenery Object option in FSDS V3 to create a .mdl file. This gives me a .mdl file of 57 KB.

Next, running Library Creator V2 alpha, I create a new library, save it and add the newly created mdl. That part goes fine, but when I compile the library I get errors and the compile fails.

Is the mdl file created with FSDS V3 compatible?.

Thanks for any help

Doc G
  2. arno

arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

netherlands
    Hi Doc,

Yes, Library Creator 2.0 should work with MDL files created with FSDS3 as well. Are you having the same errors as described in this thread?

When using FSDS3 you can also use the current version of Library Creator XML by the way (so the version not made for FsX), as the MDL files you create are in the Fs2004 format.
  3. docg

docg

us-arkansas
    Hi Arno,

Thanks for the reply.

Problem solved. It was simply a case of the mdl file not being in the right directory.

I now have a test library with 5 scenery objects. Is there any way that this library can be used with the FSX Object Placer?

Thanks Again

Doc G
  4. arno

netherlands
    Just place it in an active scenery folder and the objects should show up in the Object Placement tool for your use.
  5. docg

docg

us-arkansas
    Thanks Arno. The test library is in place and the objects are seen by object placer.