1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Exporting for use in GMax

Discussion in 'Blender' started by JakobFerdinand, 12 Nov 2017.

Tags:
  1. JakobFerdinand

    JakobFerdinand

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    sweden
    Hello!
    I have a short question about exporting objects from Blender for use in GMax and SODE (a jetway model). Basically I'm wondering if there's any way to export all these separate objects and keeping them like that when opening the file in GMax, so that I don't have to redo the "splitting" of the model again?
    View attachment 37916

    Thanks!
    Jakob Böhme

    PS: I've been searching the forum and the internet for an answer but I've been unable to find anything good (possible due to me lacking the correct phraseology). If I've missed a thread, do forgive me :)
     
  2. F747fly

    F747fly

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    1,528
    Country:
    netherlands
    Of the top of my head, you could export as .3ds and import that in to GMax with parts still seperated.
     
  3. JakobFerdinand

    JakobFerdinand

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    sweden
    I've tried doing that, but it seems both GMax and MCX don't like the file format (they both throw me an error).
     
  4. F747fly

    F747fly

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    1,528
    Country:
    netherlands
    That's quite odd, I have no issues with this. How about exporting colladea, import it in MCX and export it as .3DS?
     
  5. Dutcheeseblend

    Dutcheeseblend Resource contributor

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    1,470
    Country:
    netherlands
    I believe there is not a good way to interchange models between the programs without losing any kind of data.
    Why would you consider using Gmax after modelling in Blender, by the way?
     
  6. F747fly

    F747fly

    Joined:
    25 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    1,528
    Country:
    netherlands
    I guess he modelled the jetway in Blender and wants to use Gmax's SODE script
     
  7. JakobFerdinand

    JakobFerdinand

    Joined:
    12 Aug 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    sweden
    Yup, exactly. I can always split the model again, but for the future it would just be nice to know :)
     
  8. Dutcheeseblend

    Dutcheeseblend Resource contributor

    Joined:
    30 Jan 2013
    Messages:
    1,470
    Country:
    netherlands
    Ah, I see!