1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FSX airport/scenery help

Discussion in 'Airport Design General' started by chappy, 23/8/07.

1. chappy

chappy

newzealand
    Higuys i am completely new to scenery(although in FSX i have made my own mission scenery) and i want to make scenery instead of having to make a mission for the scenery. idont know how to use the .BGL to make the scenery FSX useable(i know how to place it etc).

also i want to maybe adjust NZCH airport and or make scenery for NZWG which has no airport scenery at all. with the object placement tool can i place runways and taxiways? or what tool can i use to do that in FSX.

Regards

Chappy
  2. scruffyduck

scruffyduck Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

wales
    When you say you want to make scenery what do you mean?

Scenery is made up of a number of layers with mesh and land/water classes at the bottom level. Then you can add objects onto that. If you want to change the way the ground looks then you need a tool like SBuilderX or FSX KML. To place objects there are a number of tools including Instant Scenery (payware)

To create the underlying airport facilities you will need a tool like FSXPlanner or AFX (payware). These provide the ability to add runways parking etc
  3. chappy

chappy

newzealand
    well i want to first of all place things like building's using the object placement tool and make that scenery, cause i dont know how to do that.

thanks

Chappy
  4. arno

arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

netherlands
    Hi,

Making scenery with the Object Placement tool is very simple. After you have placed all the objects you want in the tool, you use the "Save scenery" button to save a scenery XML file Be aware, saving it as a mission also gives a XML file, but that has another format.