1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a way to add a runway photograph?

Discussion in 'Airport Design General' started by al2000, 24/8/08.

1. al2000

al2000

kiribati
    Hello,

This is my first post here. I am not a developer but was wondering if there if there is a reasonably easy way to replace the default runways in FS2004 and FSX with photographic images of runways.

For example I know that FS Architect had a tool that allowed you to add a custom texture to the runway so that it looked nicer. You just made a BMP image of a runway and loaded it in. But unfortunately it looks like FS Architect has discontinued and I can't try out that feature.

What I would simply like to do is take a photo of a runway in Google Earth and make it into a BMP image and then assign it to a particular runway instead of having the default boring runways. Is there a way to do this and what tools would make this possible? I have looked at a few things out there that looked like they might help me but not sure if they can or not because they are not always so clear on the websites as to whether they can do this task. I am not a developer but I don't mind trying to learn a few skills in this regard to be able to have improve the environment I fly in.

Thanks for any help you can suggest.

The programs I read brief look at were:

Airport Facilitator X

http://www.flight1.com/products.asp?product=afxv1

Instant Scenery

http://www.flight1.com/products.asp?product=instscen

And Abacus EZ Scenery

http://www.abacuspub.com/

Al
  2. al2000

al2000

kiribati