1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there tutorial for beginners ?

Discussion in 'Airport Design General' started by bilookhan, 13/9/08.

1. bilookhan

bilookhan

canada
    Hi

I am new in this field and I am interested in designing an airport for AUH.
    However, I am so new at this I can't seem to figure out where to start.
    I understand there are many tools for different purposes.

Are there any tutorials guides on where to start.

Basically, what I want to achieve is to design the buildings of Abu Dhabi International Airport. And I am guessing from this is that I might need to work on the terrain first, build the proper afcad file and then design the airport building structure.

If there aren't any tutorials, can someone guide me on how to start and where and what to look for ?

Thanks.
  2. bilookhan

bilookhan

canada
    oh btw, this is for fs2004.
  3. scruffyduck

scruffyduck Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

wales
    If you are looking to create buildings then you need to use GMax or similar. Ther are many tutorials on using GMax and you can find a lot of them here www.scenery.org/tutorials.htm Somewhere down the page is the stuff for GMax

If you need to change the AFCAD the nyou will need to use AFCAD2.21. Tha manual for this program is pretty good. Finally if you do need to modify the terrain then you will need something like SBuiilder. There are some tutorials on installing and using SBuilder on www.scruffyduckscenery.co.uk
  4. bilookhan

bilookhan

canada
    Thanks for the startup.... I have downloaded the gmax :) and its tutorials.
    I am going to study this a bit ....

i'll post some questions if i come across a bump.
    thanks again.
  5. bilookhan

bilookhan

canada
    Hi

I found this link which was very helpful in getting me started:
    http://www.fsdeveloper.com/wiki/index.php?title=Gmax_installation_guide_for_FS2004