1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ModelConverterX alpha 13 release

Discussion in 'ModelConverterX' started by arno, 24/7/08.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Here is a new version of ModelConverterX. I have been able to include quite a few new things this one.

    One big change is that you need to have the graphical DLL files by Martin Wright installed, as the tool uses them. If you don't have them, you can download them from his website.

    Here are the other main changes:
    • The material editor screen will show a preview of the texture, making it easier to see which material is which.
    • Texture names with a space in them will no longer cause a crash.
    • More VecPoint command arguments supported.
    • Improved handling of FS5 colour palette colours.
    • Lines will be converted into 3D object, the radius and amount of vertices can be set in the options.
    • Attached effects from SCASM macros are read in and written to the FSX X file as attachpoints.
    • Lights are read in from SCASM macros and are written as attached effect in the FSX X file. The tool will also generate the required FX files to display a light with the correct colour.
    • Fixed problem with FS2004 MakeMDL compilation due to night textures.
    • Fixed problems with transformations being applied wrong.
    • The 3D preview will now also display the alpha component of your texture, thus showing the transparent parts.
    • If the texture files can be found, the transparency setting in the material will be set correctly. This means that textures with an alpha channel will automatically show up correct in FSX now, without requiring manual setting of the transparency flag.

    If there are any issues, please let me know. As the tool seems to be quite stable now I plan to stop releasing test versions from now on. For the next version, which I call version 0.5 for now, I plan to clean up a lot of things and make the tool easier to use. But if any new bugs are reported these will also be addressed of course ;).
    Last edited: 14/9/08
  2. BASys

    BASys

    Joined:
    25/5/06
    Messages:
    1,259
    Country:
    scotland
    Hi Folks

    Arno -
    Cheers for your latest version.

    Some feedback on v13.



    Menu - File -

    Import - MDL -
    EDIT -
    Been unable yet to open some models (> 3.5MB)
    Size doesn't appear to be the issue, as some open

    Export - 3DS -
    Exports a file ok.
    3DSMax (v8) won't import any of these .3DS files.
    Confirmed by multiple persons.
    EDIT -
    How should I be loading these into 3DSMax ?

    Save preview to image -
    On first run, generates junk.
    Subsequent runs ok, so far.
    EDIT -
    Had a couple of failures since, (not first screenie in session).

    Image always also includes overlaid windows,
    useful, but warn that it's expected.



    Menu - Tools -

    Options - Renderer settings -
    Is blank, with no options.



    Toolstrip -

    Object Information -
    Does nothing ATM.

    Display Normals -
    No longer working.

    Display Attachpoints -
    Not working on MDL imports.

    Toolstripbutton1 - Wiki -
    "Don't touch this button, it will break your object (feature not fully implemented yet)."
    Is button active ?
    If so disable, as people may damage objects
    before they get round to reading your latest wiki edits.



    Main Window -

    Zoom -
    Scaling steps need to be adjustable.
    Single zoom for small models, (5m), dissappears.



    Log Window -

    Unsupported commands -
    Add a line number for traceability.
    List of u/s commands would be useful, so you can edit before attempting import.

    Line Numbers -
    Add to unsupported commands

    Texture Loading -
    No longer reporting failed texture loads.
    Useful to search log for FAILED.



    Status Bar -
    Import progress bar still does not clear on import completion.



    General -

    Memory useage -
    Still seems to be culmulative.
    i.e. Not releasing fully.

    Crashes -
    Had a couple, (see screenie).
    Will try to recreate, and send logs.



    HTH
    ATB
    Paul
    Last edited: 9/8/09
  3. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi Paul,

    First thanks for the long list of feedback. I will put all these issues on my todo/bugs list to be sure I will take a proper look at them.

    Here are my first answers.

    I have made no changes to the MDL reader since the last version, so it should work the same. Do you have some example MDL files that fail? And do you get any error message?

    No changes to this feature as well. But I must say I only tested it by exporting an API macro as 3DS and then using the Import function of GMax. I think in 3DS you might also be able to do an import? The 3DS file made does not contain all kind of view settings, etc that 3DS can also save to it.

    Also, did you import a API or maybe a MDL. The last case I did not fully test.

    I will try to reproduce this. How does it look, completely messed up or some logic in there?

    I would say not useful, but at the moment seems to be a limitation of the 3D preview used. I will take another look at this.

    Correct, texture path options have been moved to the TextureLoader now. In the future new options will probably appear here again.

    Correct, this has never worked. Is scheduled for version 1.0 now to be functioning.

    It still works for me. Does it fail on any object? Will see if I can reproduce this.

    Correct, the MDL reader does not support reading of attachpoints yet. See the manual for what each reader can read.

    Yes, I only realized I forgot this button when I updated the manual (after I released the version). Behind this button is a first, very simple, implementation of a function to make an lower resolution LOD model of your object automatically. But it works so bad that your model probably looks very bad. That is what I mean with broken. A simple re-import will fix this of course, so nothing is really broken. I will disable this button in the next release, as this functionality is only scheduled for version 1.0 at the moment.

    Good idea, that can fill the Renderer options again as well :).

    I will try to reproduce this. Might be a problem with the clipping plane or else a too big step.

    I will check, but I thought all of them had a line number already, except the binary commands. But there are not really on one line, they can be over multiple ones.

    I choose to give a list of supported functions in the manual. So that lists what can be read. I think there are too many SCASM commands to list what is not supported, because a lot of them are hardly ever used.

    I can't remember that was in the last version, but of course I can add that warning.

    I forgot to put that on my todo list last time, will do so now.

    Will put it on my list and investigate what is going on.

    The screenshot seems to be from a MDL import. Did you only get crashes when doing that, or also when reading API macros? Any information on how to reproduce this will be useful.

    Thanks again for the useful feedback,
  4. Ayrsimming

    Ayrsimming

    Joined:
    2/1/05
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    scotland
    Hi Arno

    Many thanks for the latest version.
    No problems at this end with any of the functionality of the tool I have been using. Particularly pleased to see the FS9 conversion back, might not be looking to the future but there is still a lot of interest in FS9 around.

    Iain
  5. Smoother

    Smoother

    Joined:
    27/7/08
    Messages:
    1
    First of all, thank you Arno for your great work!

    I'm getting this error when trying to open an .mdl model in your previous alpha 12 version.

    [​IMG]

    In the new alpha 13 version it doesn't make anything, even display an error box.

    Could you tell me why this is happening?
    thank you and keep your great work
  6. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi,

    That is probably due to not registering the graphics DLL. But I must say that changes completely in alpha 13, so I would not suggest to use alpha 12 any longer.

    What did you do and how far do you get? I mean does the tool start or not even that. Do you have trouble loading objects or exporting them, etc?
  7. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi Paul,

    Seems to work fine here.

    I have verified and fixed this bug. Will be in the next release.
  8. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi Paul,

    I have done some further research and there are some more issues I would like your feedback on.

    I can also open the default A321 for example, which is 7.5 MB. Although it is not drawn correctly in the preview. Do you have examples of MDL files that completely fail so I can test these?

    I can not reproduce this. What do you mean with overlaid windows here exactly btw?
  9. BASys

    BASys

    Joined:
    25/5/06
    Messages:
    1,259
    Country:
    scotland
    Hi Folks

    Arno -
    Had only played briefly with v12.



    Import -
    Example MDL files that fail.
    Try the Acceleration EH101.

    Import -
    Double sided objects don't work.
    e.g tree type objects.
    Only show as single sided.

    Also extremely slow for such a simple object.



    Export -
    On all previous versions convert mdl to 3ds output
    never produced 3DSMax importable files for me.
    Had assumed not working yet.

    How are you successfully importing these into max ?
    e.g. Using any FSX default model.



    Capture Image -
    All windows with 'Always On Top' are captured.
    e.g. Task Manager
    Capture should be 'Client Area'.



    Display Normals -
    Glad it's not just me.



    Texture Loading -
    No longer reporting failed texture loads.
    Was present in earlier versions.



    HTH
    ATB
    Paul
  10. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi Paul,

    OK, will test with that one.

    Let me check, I think my double sides trees still worked. But I indeed worked a bit on the auto normal calculation code a bit, so I might have broken something.

    They are slower I think because the texture loading takes longer now that I use the DLL files by Martin Wright, but we get more functionality for that in return :).

    I only tested with objects converted from API macro, are you saying that you did import a MDL and then export to 3DS? I will try that and see if it works.

    Of course editing a default object in 3DS will be against copyright laws, etc. So that is not what this function was intended for. It is for editing your own work :).

    OK, will check. I did not have a task manager hanging around when I tried it. But I don't know if the part of the form behind the task manager actually gets drawn when it is covered, will see.

    And will be present in next version again :).
  11. BASys

    BASys

    Joined:
    25/5/06
    Messages:
    1,259
    Country:
    scotland
    Hi Folks

    Cheers Arno.
    AIUI
    As Martin's dll works to DirectX standards,
    and FSX isn't 100% compliant to,
    possibly might introduce issues.

    Import/render was also slow prior to v13.



    Yes



    I'm a modeling novice.
    It didn't work for any of my models,
    hence I tested with "known good" defaults.



    Scratch investigation entirely.
    Issue also happens with other screen capture programmes. :eek:



    Progressing nicely.
    Look forward to vnext.



    HTH
    ATB
    Paul
  12. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi Paul,

    I did some more testing, here are my results and some new questions for you.

    I could not reproduce the inclusion of the task manager on screenshots, in my case it does not happen. Might be a OS difference (XP vs Vista?) or else I don't know :).

    I can load the EH101 MDL file here without errors, although it is not displayed correctly. So when you can't load them, does that mean the tool will hang for ever or do you get an error message?

    I tried to import a MDL and export it to 3DS. But after that I could import it fine into GMax. Maybe I should send you one of my files to see if that works.

    About the double sided polygons, my test objects still appear double sided. Do you have on that fails that I can use for debugging?
  13. BASys

    BASys

    Joined:
    25/5/06
    Messages:
    1,259
    Country:
    scotland
    Hi Folks

    Arno -
    Task Manager -
    Tick always on top. ;)



    Import -
    Double-sided example, please see your email.
    EDIT -
    There may be a clue here.
    In aircraft preview - displays as single-sided.
    In game - displays correctly as double-sided.



    Import -
    EH101 always fails with error -
    Code:
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
       at GRV11.GR.DglBegin_I.Invoke(Int32 mode)
       at GRV11.GR.glBegin(Int32 mode)
       at ModelConverterX.ModelPreviewHandlerType.DrawObject()
       at ModelConverterX.ModelPreviewHandlerType.RenderScene()
       at ModelConverterX.ModelPreviewHandlerType.Paint(Object sender, PaintEventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
       at GRV11.GRControl.OnPaint(PaintEventArgs e)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.PaintWithErrorHandling(PaintEventArgs e, Int16 layer, Boolean disposeEventArgs)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmPaint(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
       at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
    
    
    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
        Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ModelConverterX
        Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 0.0.13.0
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20Games/Tools/ModelConverterX/ModelConverterX.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
        Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
        Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
        Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
        Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
        Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.832 (QFE.050727-8300)
        CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    GRV11DLL
        Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20Games/Tools/ModelConverterX/GRV11DLL.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    ObjectWriter
        Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 0.0.13.0
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20Games/Tools/ModelConverterX/ObjectWriter.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    ObjectReader
        Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 0.0.13.0
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20Games/Tools/ModelConverterX/ObjectReader.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    ObjectModel3D
        Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 0.0.13.0
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20Games/Tools/ModelConverterX/ObjectModel3D.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    TextureLoader
        Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
        Win32 Version: 0.0.13.0
        CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20Games/Tools/ModelConverterX/TextureLoader.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    
    System -
    Dell Inspiron 8200
    2.4 GHz
    2048 MB
    ATI 9000 Mobility, 64MB, 03/05/2006, 8.252.0.0
    1600x1200x32
    Windows XP Pro SP3
    FSX 10.0.61624.0 (FSX-Xpack.20070913-2307)



    Export -
    I've been atempting to import into 3DSMax.
    That's what I'm looking to have working. :D

    I'll have to reinstall GMax.



    HTH
    ATB
    Paul
    Last edited: 4/8/08
  14. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi Paul,



    It was on, the task manager was even covering part of the preview. But still the screenshot was OK. This was on Vista though, not sure if that matters.

    I guess we can mark this issue as not so important now :).

    OK, will still check as I want the preview to be accurate. Will you your object to test.

    Seems to be after the reading, it is the render logic that fails. Hopefully that bring me somewhere.

    I tested it, importing in 3DSMax also works fine for me. Any error you get here?
  15. BASys

    BASys

    Joined:
    25/5/06
    Messages:
    1,259
    Country:
    scotland
    Hi Folks

    Arno -
    Cheers for your feedback.

    Capture Image -
    'Always On Top', must be an XP v Vista thing. :D



    Import -
    Last edited: 9/8/09
  16. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi Paul,

    Little update on some of the issues:

    • 3DS files not importing is due to texture names that are not in the DOS 8.3 format that the 3DS file format requires. That will be fixed in the next version.
    • The problem with those double sided polygons was because the MDL reader did not read all material settings correctly yet, that has also been solved now.
  17. icemotoboy

    icemotoboy

    Joined:
    2/3/07
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    newzealand
    Great tool!

    I cannot seem to open files that have an interior and exterior model in the same file. At least, I think this might be why sometimes when I try to import a file, I get nothing. No crashes, just a blank log message followed by some dashes. I can open files that are separate interior and exterior models.
  18. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi,

    Do you have an example file that I can use the debug?

    Also, what are you trying to achieve by opening it? Or do you just want to visualise the file.
  19. icemotoboy

    icemotoboy

    Joined:
    2/3/07
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    newzealand
    I found this is a useful tool for debugging geometry issues. I made some Naval units a while back which I had geometry issues with one some computers. I can upload the files but they're quite large. I'll put them on my FTP and send you the link.

    I was able to diagnose a number of geometry problems by simply loading the files too see where they broke, as FSX tended to hide some of them.

    I would recommend this tool to addon developers as a great way to quickly test their models.

    Perhaps for a future version there could be a full viewer? I haven't used the export function yet, but I haven't been able to get my textures loading in the image but this may be something I'm doing wrong.
  20. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28/5/04
    Messages:
    21,353
    Country:
    netherlands
    Hi,

    Always nice to see that users can think of more ways to use a tool than I did myself :).

    You can also email them to me directly, arno _AT_ fsdeveloper _DOT_ com

    You might have seen some pictures of the new GUI already on my blog (if you check that sometimes). It makes it easier to use the tool as a viewer only if the user wants. Or maybe I can make a separate viewer later based on the same code.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page