1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modifying a standard airport

Discussion in 'Airport Design General' started by Sander, 20/7/07.

1. Sander

Sander

Hello,

I am totally new with scenery design, but I am trying to modify an existing field. I know that I can use afcad to modify a taxiway or runway, but i want to do some more things, like custom textures to runways and I want to add some buildings.

Now I am trying to work with FS Architect, but when i use the program, I am starting with a blank (green) page. But I just want to load an existing airport into that page, like I can do so in AFCAD. Is there a way to do this in FS Architect? Or do you know another program to work this way? :eek: I would also appreciate if you know some tips or tricks for me.

Edit: I am using flightsimulator 9, instead of FSX.

Thanks in advance!
    Last edited: 20/7/07
  2. scruffyduck

scruffyduck Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

wales
    You might want to look at SBuilder. There are a series of tutorials on my site (www.scruffyduckscenery.co.uk) that cover the kind of things you are talking about using AFCAD and SBuilder. You need Sbuilder 2.05 and not SBuilderX
  3. Sander

Sander

Hello Jon,

Thanks for your reply. I just looked at the tutorials, but i don't understand one thing.

In FS Architect, i see the nice options, such as 'add a taxiway sign', or 'Place an advanced building'. That are the things I want to do.

In SBuilder, i get a error, when I try to start a new file. But I will try to fix that with the tutorial on your website about installing Sbuilder.

Anyway, I cannot see the airport layout in one of the problems. (Such as the taxiways, or buildings.) Is there a way to do this like I can in AFCAD?

I mean, how can I add taxiway signs to a airport without knowing where the sign is going to be placed?