1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need API's to build a team radar

Discussion in 'SimConnect' started by wserra, 4/8/07.

1. wserra

wserra

unitedstates
    Hello,

I'm new to SimConnect. I’ve downloaded a few samples and tried extremely simple projects. I’d like to contribute to the fsdeveloper community with a more ambitious project.

Being new to SimConnect I’m afraid I will ask questions that have already been asked before; I beg for your patience and understanding.

I’ve been programming in C++ since it came out 20 years ago and with Direct3D in the last 3 years. These credentials don’t make one a good programmer but certainly a fearless one:D

I’ve noted a deficiency in FSX’s multiplayer mode. When you fly with a group of friends it’s quite difficult to keep track of everybody’s position, heading, altitude and speed.

The project I have in mind is a team radar to do just that.

FSX has a view from above which is quite helpful as long as the planes stick within a 20 nautical mile radius (effective 10nm since you’re in the middle of the view). As you know, teams tend to scatter and disappear from the view quickly. The view is not programmable and therefore not useful as a team’s radar.

Also, strangers connect to sessions. While they are welcome they pollute the view.

I’ve read the SimConnect SDK Reference but couldn’t find the relevant API’s to build a team radar.

Hopefully I’m wrong about this but as far as I have read, none of the SimConnect samples show how to be notified when a new player joins/leaves a session. Also it doesn’t show how to get a list of logged in players and how to get an aircraft’s current vectors.

In other words, to build a team radar I would need to be able to get the following:

a) List of the current aircrafts.
    b) Notification of creation/destruction of aircraft XYZ.