1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie needs help

Discussion in 'ModelConverterX' started by Turbine777, 26/12/09.

1. Turbine777

Turbine777

us-massachusetts
    Hello all,
    Just wondering if someone could tell me how to remove two buildings from the KBOS_HangarComplex.MDL. There are 8 buildings all in this one object. I opened boston.bgl in modelconverterx, exported the object in 3ds format, and used gmax to import the 3ds but not sure how to remove the two unwanted buildings. I was told that "It looks like that model has 4 LODs defined, and you have to fix each". I'm a newbie with only a day in so far and am still learning, but while I learn was hoping for some insight from someone with a possible resolution.
    I was only trying to add the new RWY to the airport with ADE, but these two buildings kinda block the new taxi path and have turned my attention now to learning things way over my head to just make it functional. As mentioned, in time I'll learn how to just delete the object and replace it with my own work soon enough, but that may take weeks with the little time I have to spare to this hobby. Any help and insite would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and hope you have/had a Merry Christmas (not midnight yet ;-)
    Dan
  2. tgibson

tgibson

us-california
    Hi,

This is really a GMAX question, not ModelConverterX. The short story is that if these buildings are created as separate objects, then you can remove them separately. If not, then you can't (easily).

Click the GMAX button at the top that has a tooltip saying Select Object (arrow button). Then click each object you want to remove. It should turn white. If this is the object you want to remove, press Delete. If there is more than one LOD, there may still be buildings remaining there. Click on them and press delete until they are all gone. Repeat until only the buildings you want remaining are present.