1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Night Textures for Custom Sketchup buildings

Discussion in 'SketchUp' started by XZninjaX, 13/12/11.

1. XZninjaX

XZninjaX

unitedstates
    Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to the whole scenery design thing and have learned the majority of what I know through looking on the guides here. I have created 5 custom buildings for a Semi-Fictional Chautauqua Co. Airport for my virtual FBO.

I would like to know how to make these lit-up night textures for my Sketchup buildings. I have tried making the textures a lighter shade on Photoshop and putting those on Model Converter.

Any help would be appreciated :)

Matt
  2. scott967

scott967

us-hawaii
    Have you looked at this?
    http://www.fsdeveloper.com/downloads/creating_night_textures.pdf

Otherwise, something I am playing with but not mastered yet is to bake a texture by rendering a night time view in Sketchup. There are commercial rendering programs, not really cheap though. I have been working with a freeware alternative, using a plugin called SU2POV which uses a freeware tool POV-RAY 3.7 to render the texture. The idea is to set shadows and light sources around your model then render it for both day and night. Then use the render as a texture/material instead of what you had assigned.

scott s.
  3. XZninjaX

XZninjaX

unitedstates
    This is exactly what I am looking for. Thanks :)

Matt
  4. Tejal Bernardo

Tejal Bernardo

spain
    I you are using Modelconvertex too, just add them in the material editor as a new texture, just that, not update the textures because you will lose resolution in the textures of your model as I made earlier in the past :(, I think baked textures is a good way to go, because apply night textures to the seketchp model is very tricky, all those fragmented textures.
  5. arno

arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

netherlands
    Hi,