1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P3Dv4 Dynamic Lighting

Discussion in 'Prepar3D' started by BrBlazer, 30 May 2017.

  1. BrBlazer

    BrBlazer

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Anyone find where on the SDK we can learn how to make the dynamic lighting for P3Dv4?
     
  2. nz255

    nz255

    Joined:
    23 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    newzealand
  3. paulo

    paulo

    Joined:
    24 May 2006
    Messages:
    52
    I´m read and try to find too....
     
  4. SkippyBing

    SkippyBing

    Joined:
    13 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    329
    Country:
    unitedkingdom
    There's a reference to it in the effects section, if you search that for dynamic it tells you which panel on the effects tool makes it a dynamic light.
     
  5. paulo

    paulo

    Joined:
    24 May 2006
    Messages:
    52
    I don't think it's effects because I took the plane Baron as example he only has an effect that is fx_landing.fx and this effect if placed alone does not make the dynamic effect as does the plane, only the normal effect, there's something else more.
     
  6. Roland81

    Roland81

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    us-florida
    Is this worth it? I have heard this hurts performance terribly. If you bake your own textures you would get the same result with no performance penalty. Of course if this is a moving vehicle perhaps, but a lamp, or multiple lamps etc.

    The videos look nice, but its not revolutionary per se. IMHO
     
  7. Andrey-rus

    Andrey-rus

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    russia
    Yes, unfortunately there are no examples and details.. the SDK is very poorly describes it. I'll be glad if someone could share how to add dynamic light. There is a very long list of effects.. But how do they support dynamic lights, difficult to understand.
     
  8. simbiosi

    simbiosi

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    italy
    I have always hate the Idea of effect since FS9 for unprecise and rather annoying method of placing with script but also the for the resource hug that can take on framerate.
    Now with this SDK you can play about this new light to see the preview of those follow this guide:
    http://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv4/LearningCenter.php

    copy the Visual Effects Tool folder inside SDK to to the default add-on packages folder, found here:C:\Users\XXXXX\Documents\Prepar3D v4 Add-ons
    You will find the tool on the P3DV4 menu then open the effect of fx_ForestFire.fx change value following the link above SDK->Modeling->Special Effects and clear the fire particle and add a Light and check Spot Light and change the value at your taste.
    I belive that soon or later some one will post the magic value.
    I play for fun until my framerate descend below 7 FPS
     
  9. Max-Liea

    Max-Liea

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    italy
    Here sperimental dynamic light on light pole:

    dyn_light.jpeg
     
  10. DBushell

    DBushell

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Anyone else noticed the landing light in external view now lights up the VC by default? When the light is set back from the cockpit.
     
  11. Roland81

    Roland81

    Joined:
    28 Sep 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    us-florida
    I just used the default Landing lights effect attached it to an object and I got this 'dynamic light'.
     
  12. BrBlazer

    BrBlazer

    Joined:
    15 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    396
    How is it done?
     
  13. simbiosi

    simbiosi

    Joined:
    2 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    italy
    here an example of light, play with value as much you want then save it as an effect and attach to a cube in a modeling software.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. mariorc

    mariorc

    Joined:
    19 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    portugal
    Hi

    Max-Liea or simbiosi, can you provide details?

    It's possible to configure the direction and aperture of the light?

    I'm producing freeware scenarios and there is not time because of my personal work. I already provided several scenarios but I would like to improve them.
     
  15. Christian Bahr

    Christian Bahr

    Joined:
    18 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    germany
    Hi.

    Have spent the last days, among other things, something to experiment with the new light effects of P3DV4. First results:

    [​IMG]
    Picture 1: Different light sources with different color values create a pleasant atmosphere


    [​IMG]
    Picture 2: Also the windsack has got a lighting. The red lights emit even the light



    [​IMG]


    Basically, it is normal fx files that have been slightly modified. If you use the fx files "attached" then you can also adjust the angle of the light.
     
  16. geromebodden

    geromebodden

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    caymanislands
    Nice. Please show us how its done.
     
  17. Christian Bahr

    Christian Bahr

    Joined:
    18 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    germany
    As simbiosi made it: FX Tool loaded in P3DV4, created / modified an effect. The effect then saved and with the help of the AttachPoint tool from the SDK the effect attached to my 3-D model, see picture:

    [​IMG]
    Picture: 3-D Modell of a detailed and animated windsock with various attach points
     
  18. Max-Liea

    Max-Liea

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    italy
    FX Tool loaded in P3DV4, I have created a new effect

    luci1.jpg

    sequence ---- New --- Insert Light and compile data of effect, static, scale of PHI on ground, color night (for light angle check spot light and assign value to angle inner and outer.

    On 3dsmax

    luci2.jpg


    Stick the effect as usual

    Sorry for my english.

    Ciao
     
    Christian Bahr likes this.
  19. MOUSY

    MOUSY Resource contributor

    Joined:
    14 Aug 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    dominica
    Are all the lights visible in this image dynamic lights? Including the lamp posts with orange light splashes? And if so what is the performance impact like?
     
  20. robystar

    robystar

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    4,456
    For me 10 Fps and it does not add anything to existing sceneries unless you start changing all the light effects.
    As for user 'vehicles', well, in a lit up airport at night you will not see much difference. If you go out into the bush bush that may be handy but I do not think that it is worthwhile in a complex airport scenery because it does not affect AI (AFAIK).

    PS: By the way, Christian, your taxi lights show up too far as well!
     

Share This Page