1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P3D v4 Problem animating in 3DS max 2017

Discussion in 'Modeling' started by tonaz, 5 Dec 2017.

  1. tonaz

    tonaz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Hello,
    I just setup a very simple animation in 3ds max.
    When i export it in 3DS format, and i try to reimport it in MCX, the animation looks broken and everything is messed up.
    I attach the .max file for your reference.
    Can someone help me to find out why?
    Thanks a lot!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. n4gix

    n4gix Resource contributor

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Country:
    unitedstates
    Why are you exporting in 3DS format and messing with MCX? Why not simply export as an .x file and then compile it with XtoMDL.exe, which is of course the normal way of creating .mdl files.
     
  3. Heretic

    Heretic Resource contributor

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    5,596
    Country:
    germany
    Because on some days, you don't have the model source files and need to merge a custom designed animation to an exisiting .mdl file (for personal use until you receive permission). ;)
     
  4. n4gix

    n4gix Resource contributor

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Country:
    unitedstates
    Are animations even exported to 3DS format?
     
  5. arno

    arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

    Joined:
    28 May 2004
    Messages:
    24,915
    Country:
    netherlands
    The 3DS format can store animations, although from MCX I never got it fully working.

    Does the 3DS file look OK if you import it back into 3DS Max?
     
  6. =rk=

    =rk=

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,672
    Country:
    us-washington
    Can you not just use the merge objects tool to add the .x file animated sub model to the model you intend to edit?
     
  7. tonaz

    tonaz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    113
    The reimported 3ds looks ok in 3ds max.
    I found out that FXB exported from 3ds max works well in MCX.
    Yes Heretic, that is exactly the need.
    I am putting moving wipers and windshield rain drops effect on the old FSX CRJ-700.
    Unfortunately i think i will not permitted to share it.
    Thanks!
     
  8. Heretic

    Heretic Resource contributor

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    5,596
    Country:
    germany
    Have you seen this?
    http://fsdeveloper.com/forum/threads/default-crj-700-vc-rework.436719/

    Other than that, and as Rick said, importing an .x or .mdl file is all you need to merge things into models.
     
  9. tonaz

    tonaz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Thanks Heretic!
    Actually, modestly, i think i am doing something extremely superior, in visuals particularly.
     
  10. Tejal Bernardo

    Tejal Bernardo

    Joined:
    21 Mar 2011
    Messages:
    3,252
    Country:
    spain
  11. Heretic

    Heretic Resource contributor

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    5,596
    Country:
    germany
    I'll only believe it when I see it. ;)
     
  12. tonaz

    tonaz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    113
    This is just the beginning ;-)

     
  13. =rk=

    =rk=

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,672
    Country:
    us-washington
    This guy is awesome..

     
  14. Heretic

    Heretic Resource contributor

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    5,596
    Country:
    germany
    Shader based rain?
     
  15. n4gix

    n4gix Resource contributor

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Country:
    unitedstates
    Oh! I like this. I especially like the way the tip of the wipers "drag" the drops and clear the windscreen area properly. :cool:
     
  16. n4gix

    n4gix Resource contributor

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    10,839
    Country:
    unitedstates
    He is a very good presenter, but just a bit pretentious with his username. FO's are not typically called "Capitan..." :laughing:
     
  17. =rk=

    =rk=

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    1,672
    Country:
    us-washington
    I think it is tongue in cheek. You ought to see his "Chemtrails are Real" video, he covers all aspects and without insulting conspiracists, manages to be very humorous.
     
  18. tonaz

    tonaz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    113
    @Heretic Nope, it is Scaleform. The real and only noteworthy addition LM did. Pity that almost none of payware's developers use it.
    Maybe the TrueGlass from TFDi is made of Scaleform, but i don't have their product.
    @n4gix Thanks, I am going very slow with this CRJ, but it will be a little jewel.

    Do anyone got a good rain video footage? Possibly with black background. It could help to improve the effect i developed.
     
  19. Heretic

    Heretic Resource contributor

    Joined:
    1 Feb 2007
    Messages:
    5,596
    Country:
    germany
    A quick googling tells me that Scaleform basically provides a Flash-driven vector graphics engine to be used for UIs and HUDs.
    This offers quite a bit of possibilities. Rain on every geometry, fogging windows, icing on surfaces...
     
  20. tonaz

    tonaz

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    113
    It is exactly that.
    It offers unlimited possibilities.
    You could create a simple 3D planar surface, and make it a web browser :D, play a movie, a complex gauge or anything you want you can do with Flash.
    The included SDK setups for Scaleform makes the magic of reading the sim variables in Flash (and make Flash write them back ofcourse), and you can do ANYTHING you like...
    Something that is very hard to do with common gauge programming like the PFD display fading to black when turned off, with Scaleform it's child's play.
    I am very skillfull in Flash Actionscripting (while i do suck about standard P3D gauges programming :D ), so you can imagine my happiness when they implemented it.
    I still don't understand why nobody knows it :)

    BTW, i am doing progressess with my CRJ rework. I just finished remodelling from scratch the autopilot panel.
    Soon i will make a thread about it.
     
    Last edited: 9 Dec 2017