1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small RC helicopter in FSX?

Discussion in 'Other' started by Cosky, 8/10/10.

1. Cosky

Cosky

poland
    I searched the forum and net and couldnt find the answer
    does anyone tried to create small in size RC helicopter model (similar to RealFlight G5 models) in FSX and control it with standard RC controller ?
    I'm asking because i'm leading UAV development project at university and we need simulation environment for navigation and control algorithms tests. FSX seems to be perfect for it but as i sad i couldnt find if anyone tried it.
    I'm totally new to the FSX development i will keep reading the forum but some help at start will be appreciated to push our work foreward
  2. jetwelder

jetwelder Resource contributor

unitedkingdom
    some time ago i had a chinese made, rc helicopter.it came with a cable and software.it connected to my pc, and allowed me to simulate using the rc controller in a simplified envirenment, in terms of scenery at least..building model aircraft for fs has already been done...building a model aircraft and tweaking its airfile so it flies like a model is doable...interfacing an rc controller with fs....it should be possible...the driver for such a controller is the big issue???..sorry cant help more..keep searching its a nice idea..jim
  3. Cosky

Cosky

poland
    Developing RC controler Driver is trivial, developing small aircraft model is more than doable i was rather more interested in physic aspect of the simulator
    it was designed to work with big and heavy models and i'm not sure if it will work correctly with models small in size, i'm sure we will evaluate it even if none tried it so far.
    thank you for answer anyway
  4. jetwelder

jetwelder Resource contributor

unitedkingdom
    the physics problem