1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Understanding Time Zone

Discussion in 'AI Flight Planner' started by hefy_jefy, 31/10/08.

1. hefy_jefy

hefy_jefy

us-california
    I am quite new to this although I used TTools in FS2004 somewhile back, I always had difficulty figuring out the time correctly, so I was pleased to see that there is Time Zone drop down. But I am having some problems understanding what this actually does. My local airport is KMRY which is UTC -8 my assumption was that I could set the Time Zone to UTC -8 and that I could for example enter a departure time of 08:00 and because the Time Zone was set to UTC-8 the entry in the actual flight plan and traffic BGL would be 16:00 giving me a local departure time of 08:00 - but thats not what I see.

Another question: I want to set up a flight sequence that repeats every 2 hrs starting at 09:00 but I can't figure out how to do that...

Thanks for any help,

Geoff
  2. bobbyjack

bobbyjack

unitedstates
    Hi, Geoff

Don will be alone to answer a little better, but let me start you out.

I set my time zone to UTC Grennwich Mean. Seems to give me the departure time I want. Not the best answer, but a place to start.

There are two ways to handle your second question. If you remember your ttools, write the plan in text form, open it in AIFP and have it change it into FSX when you compile. You would also need an aircaft and airports list.

Or fill in the boxes in the AIFP window. Don't forget Reg. number and target version.

I don't know how far you've gotten. I start with "Collect Airports" from the AIRPORTS menu. Then "Add New Aircraft" from the AIRCRAFT munu. Select your plane from the AIRCRAFT LIST pull down. Then you can start filling in boxes.

Have fun.

Bob
  3. gadgets

gadgets Resource contributor

ca-britishcolumbia