1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using ModelConverterX to convert FS9 Models to P3D v4

Discussion in 'Prepar3D' started by kv0i, 11 Aug 2017.

1. kv0i

kv0i

us-nebraska
    I have been converting several of my old FS9 Models to P3dV4 using the Model Import/Export function in the development ModelConvertX version. The models convert fine for the most part except most of the control surfaces do not show. Sometimes I see strange items attached to the aircraft. Also propellers show but do not rotate. I tried using the Animation Tweaker to fix but am having no luck. However, I can get doors and canopies to open using Shift E. I am a total novice working with these model files and hope some one can assist.

2. arno

arno Administrator Staff Member FSDevConf team Resource contributor

netherlands
    Hi,

Animations have to be manually updated to the right type. They are not automatically mapped. That's something I hope to add in the future.

Also not all parts of FS2004 aircraft load correctly in MCX, so that might also be a reason you loose parts.

3. kv0i

kv0i

us-nebraska

Thanks Arno,

Is there a way to manually map with MCX? Will be looking forward for the update in the future. Your tool is great since I can use a some of my old FS9 Aircraft that I really like.

Thanks again,

Bill

4. arno

netherlands
    In the animation editor you can assign the correct animation type for each animation.

5. kv0i

kv0i

us-nebraska
    I will give that a try

6. kv0i

kv0i

us-nebraska
    I have tried to assign the animation type for a propeller on a single engine aircraft but having no luck. I must be doing something wrong in the Animation Editor. When I export it from FS9 to P3d V4 I see in the compiler output animation for gear and canopy but none of the propellor animation types I assigned with the editor.

7. Wood

Wood

canada