1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is FSUIPC?

Discussion in 'Tools programming' started by CrashTestDummy, 20/2/10.

1. CrashTestDummy

CrashTestDummy

vaticancity
    What is FSUIPC?

I’m new to FS, so making some startling discoveries…
    Like I’ve just discovered the FSUIPC is not a MS product ;)

I had a look at FSUIPC briefly just to make sure I’m not building the same thing (I’m not) and it looks like a Heap Walker.

This guy seems to have discovered that he can put a callback DLL (a gauge) in the FS process, walk the heap, set up an invisible window and call the data across processes using the windows message pump…

Holy Crap!

Firstly because its not a MS tool… and secondly, this guy has to be a flying fanatic to want the data so badly, an enormous amount of work… ha ha

Fly the plane, watch bit change, and eventually figure out you looking at the landing light, and knowing that next version of FS you may have to do it all again.

And a whole industry grew up on this memory peeker ;)

I think that’s flipping amazing ;)

Is that about right?
  2. n4gix

n4gix Resource contributor

unitedstates
    Adam Szofran wrote the first FS6IPC decades ago, then turned the source files over to Pete Dowson when Adam went to work for MS/ACES.

For nearly a decade, Pete maintained and expanded FSUIPC as each new version of FS was released. What is remarkable is that it remained absolutely free up until FS2004 was released, at which time Pete was investing so much time and effort into it that he implemented three "functional models" of FSUIPC:

1. basic funtions free

2. advanced functions "unlocked" under single-product-use license paid for by payware company

3. advanced functions "unlocked completely" for single-user paid for by customer

The above is a very brief history. For full details I'd suggest going here:

http://www.schiratti.com/dowson.html