1 fs2004 texture not displaying properly in FSX (Transparency issue?)

Hi there. I am using a FS2004 addon airport that displays almost perfectly in FSX, All the textures in the texture folder for the airport are .bmp There is only a single issue of a texture that is not displaying properly, see attached. I was really hoping there is a way to modify or somehow convert it so it displays nice. The white/sky area above the hedge displays sky, which I assume should be transparent?

I am only learning very basic scenery stuff atm.

I have loaded it into DXTBMP and saved it as a DDS5 texture, but still get the same result. I cant upload the actual texture as its .bmp so the site dosn't allow the upload

Many thanks for any advice!
SAjoQUV.jpg

Thanks

Chris
Perth, Western Australia

tgibson

Resource contributor
Hi,

Yes, the object needs to be converted to FSX format (as does the texture material) - this is always true of FS2004 objects that use such transparency effects. ModelConverterX can convert this - when converting the material that has this texture in the Material editor, choose and then Apply the "Set Default Transparent" choice.

I have a little bit of detail in this forum post:

Hi Tom. I have had a read of your converting a classic fs9 airport to FSX, Before I start anything, and my apologies for a noob question.

I was using AFX (although I have ADE as well) When I open the FS9BGL (in AFX) for the airport layout (The airport in question is David Maltbys excellent 1962 Manchester EGCC http://www.dmflightsim.co.uk/egcc.htm so I opened AF2_EGCC. If I go to the airport properties (in AFX) I have the option to re-save it as an FSX format airport. When I do that, it gets saved as AFX.EGCC. I delete the AF2.EGCC file. The airport loads again into FSX and appears no different (but the fence texture still shows as per above pic)