P3D v2 How to get aircrafts altitude?

Hi! Im pretty new to c# and creating addons for p3d and fsx but im trying to get the current altitude of the aircraft.

Currently im trying to do like this:

Code:
                    simconnect.AddToDataDefinition(DEFINITIONS.Struct1, "Title", null, SIMCONNECT_DATATYPE.STRING256, 0.0f, SimConnect.SIMCONNECT_UNUSED);
                    simconnect.AddToDataDefinition(DEFINITIONS.Struct1, "Plane Altitude", "feet", SIMCONNECT_DATATYPE.FLOAT64, 0.0f, SimConnect.SIMCONNECT_UNUSED);

simconnect.RegisterDataDefineStruct<Struct1>(DEFINITIONS.Struct1);
                    simconnect.OnRecvSimobjectDataBytype += new SimConnect.RecvSimobjectDataBytypeEventHandler(simconnect_OnRecvSimobjectDataBytype);
and I got this method:

Code:
     void simconnect_OnRecvSimobjectDataBytype(SimConnect sender, SIMCONNECT_RECV_SIMOBJECT_DATA_BYTYPE data)
        {

switch ((DATA_REQUESTS)data.dwRequestID)
            {
                case DATA_REQUESTS.REQUEST_1:
                    Struct1 s1 = (Struct1)data.dwData[0];

MessageBox.Show(s1.altitude.ToString());
                    break;

default:
                    MessageBox.Show("1");
                    break;
            }

}
I need to get the altitude and but it in a variable. If you can help me that would be awesome!

I see you are trying to use code from the Managed Data example. Are you getting that to work? What if any are the errors?

I suggest not using a message box - write to a edit text box or RichTextBox.

upload_2015-4-10_17-38-9.png

Yeah I'm trying to use that example but I'm trying to implement it on my own Windows form application so I can understand what every line does. Right now I don't really understand what I'm doing since the example code doesn't really explain much, they just do it. I don't get any errors and the message box doesn't even come up. And why can't I use a message box? Just wondering..