FSXA Minimum size of photoreal image for use in FSX?

After some fits and starts, and a couple year vaction from attempting FS9 scenery, I'm getting back into a project to create FS scenery. I'm interested in moving up to FSX, to avoid the 4.75 m/pix resolution restraint in the old FS9 resampler.exe program.

Before I spend considerable money on some commercial aerial imagery, I would like to know if an aerial image have to be of a minimum dimension to be used with the FSX resampler? I am currently working on obtaining an aerial image of an airport I'd like to model, and was wondering if the image could be just the airport and nearby areas, or does it have to completely fill a LOD tile? (I seem to recall in FS9 an image had to completely fill a tile).

I'm completely new to FSX (I haven't even bought it yet - that will be dependent on being able to acquire the aerial imagery I need), so please be gentle. In addition, is there a specifice georeferenced file type (GeoTiff, etc.) that I should specify for my imagery in from the vendor? I know it needs to be in WGS84 projection. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

Mark

Hi Mark:

Welcome back to scenery development for the virtual world of MSFS ! :cool:

It may be helpful to consider a review of the reference documentation for a popular and very capable FSX scenery creation utility "SBuilderX": :idea:

http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5596

After SBuilderX is installed, you can review the Help file topic on Land Class scenery:

SBuilderX Menu > Help > Search Tab > Search String: "class" > click 'List Topics' > Land Classification > Further Reading

..And then the Help file topic on FSX custom Photo-real Land Class scenery

SBuilderX Menu > Help > Search Tab > Search String: "photo" > click 'List Topics' > Custom Ground Textures > Using a Map to create custom ground