FSXA Nearmap tiles SBX

Hello all,
my name is Frank and I am a scenery developer for OZX (www.aussiex.org). We have hundreds of airports for ORBX PNW and ORBX AU. We have just started recruiting a second generation of developers since the first generation has moved to ORBX to continue their work. Anyway, here is my problem. There is this really high resolution Australian imagery source called Nearmap and there is a tile downloading program called Hypertiles which they also made. I have downloaded the tiles I want in Hypertiles but when it saves then it saves each tile into a folder. When I go into SbuilderX to open it up and do a BGL compile, I have to compile each tile which takes too long. Is there an easier way?
Thanks and I appreciate your help,
Frank

arno

Administrator
Staff member
FSDevConf team
Resource contributor
Hi Frank,

The website says you can also download them as geo referenced files for use in gis applications. Maybe you can feed those directly to resample (if they are in wgs84 projection). That might be easier than using sbuilderx.

Send from my phone using Tapatalk, so excuse the short sentences and possible typos

hcornea

Resource contributor
Hypertiles will combine them, or you can use a GIS program like Globalmapper.

Ensure that you use Geodetic WGS84 when downloading.

rhumbaflappy

Staff member
Resource contributor
I'm downloading a set of tiles for Canberra International as a test. It is at zoom 21, so it will take about 6 hours. :eek:

I believe the file structure for the images is jpeg. It needs to be changed for use as a resample source. I think gdal_translate would be the right program. You can then make them as GeoTiffs, which are very easy to use directly with resample or with SBuilderX.

You could combine the image files as a single image... but with these extreme zoom levels, it would be quite large, and SBuilderX probably would choke on them... resample doesn't to mind large images.