Substance B2M ... too good to be true?

I'm very new to Substance and 3D Modeling, so bare with me ... B2M seems to be an incredibly good tool to improve workflow ... one stop shop for diffuse image sources ... do I really need any other tool for PBR materials?

B2M seems to have the ability to tile a diffuse image seamlessly and even randomize tiles so as to avoid repeating patterns. Is B2M the primary tool of choice as it seems to be able to do just about everything one would want in terms of PBR and P3D (and I assume for XP11 also).

Drop a diffuse image into B2M and one has Base Color, Roughness map, Metalic map, Normal map, Height map, and Ambient Occlusion map ... but what about Transparency?

B2M almost seems too good to be true, like maybe I missed something obvious or just don't have the experience to see it's issues ... so before I get too far down the B2M wedding, would love to get others thoughts and experiences? Is it too good to be true, what snakes and ladders can I expect?

Cheers, Rob.

Hi Rob

Its not to good to be true, its an amassing program. Unfortunately it seems they have replaced it with Substance Alchemist, witch is a Simplified , more automatic program. So it has Forced me to use Substance designer witch is to complicated.
I hate Alogoryphic for this decision, hold onto B2M wile you still can, my licencing has made it inaccessible for me.

Last edited:
Same as Nagmaal says, it has been replaced by Alchemist which is way more powerful than B2M. Is good and handy to use and it has become a pretty handy tool even in blockbuster films and AAA games, but still you need to know how to play around it correctly as this is an automated software so it tries its best to guess the values but not always they are going to be correct or you just want to tweak it to give it your own artistic touch.