Surface Painted Taxiway Direction Signs

Does anybody know how to add Surface Painted Taxiway Direction Signs in Airport Design Editor?
I did not find anything in the user manual.

Pramod

scruffyduck

Administrator
Staff member
FSDevConf team
Resource contributor
Check out the custom ground poly function. The manual for this should be in the manuals sub folder inside the ADE main folder

scruffyduck

Administrator
Staff member
FSDevConf team
Resource contributor
You need to add a texture to the poly with the text on it. I am no expert on this but someone here should be able to help

gadgets

Resource contributor
There are several textures in the ADE-GP texture folders that illustrate adding text to GPs. Look in the Textures_Dpy folder. Note that if you create your own textures you'll need to also make entries in the Textures_Def.txt, and perhaps also the Lines_def.txt files. The process is well documented in the ADE-GP USer Manual.

Don

Yes, I am aware of the textures in Texture_Dpy folder and have used these to create custom poly lines. But I can't understand how to use the text. For example, if I select gp_Signs_Yellow.bmp then how do I choose the text on it? The manual, unfortunately, does not explain this.

Pramod

gadgets

Resource contributor
You select the text you want in exactly the same way as you select a portion of any other texture; in the GP Editor, move the vertices of the poly so they enclose the portion of gp_signs_Yellow you wish to use. The text is not special, its an integral part of the texture.

Don

To elaborate - create the polygon the size of the character you want. Then the editor opens an choose the texture. Then move the vertices to the same shape as the polygon, surrounding the character you want. If you want to create words (i.e. multiple characters), you create individual polygons for each character.

If you don't want individual polygons for each character then you need to create a custom texture with the words you want.