P3D v3 Turbo prop torque gauge.

I’m working on a 3D modeled torque gauge for my plane and for the life of me I can’t get the right variable or something. I’m completely new to programming of any kind but I have read and studied everything I can find on this site and google. I’m trying to put the code straight into the model def and that may be the problem. Any help or explanation would be greatly appreciated. I’m very thankful for all of you who share your knowledge on this site! I’m using blender2fsx/p3d and I’m running p3d v3.4.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I was able to use (A:ENG1 TORQUE, ft-lbs) but with my needle animation having key frames set at 0, 50 and 100 the needle is maxed out 99% of the time and the other 1% it's bottomed out. Here is my code.

Code:
<Animation name="needle_torque" guid="9f8828e7-cfb8-4f14-0d06-daf3f86ea768" length="100" type="Sim" typeParam2="needle_torque" typeParam="AutoPlay" />

<PartInfo>
    <Name>needle_torque</Name>
    <AnimLength>100</AnimLength>
    <Animation>
      <Parameter>
        <Code>(A:ENG1 TORQUE, ft-lbs)</Code>
      </Parameter>
    </Animation>
  </PartInfo>

tgibson

Resource contributor
The Parameter section outputs the keyframe to be displayed. I assume that 99% of the time that variable is greater than 100. You may need to divide it by some number to bring the scale down to a 0-100 range.

Ok so I tried scaling it down with no effect
Code:
<Code>(A:ENG1 TORQUE, ft-lbs) 16.8 *</Code>
My max torque is 1,680 ft/lbs so my thinking was 16.8 ft/lbs per frame but I got the exact same response. I then tried 100 in place of 16.8 and still the same response so it must be something else. Is there a program to read the output data from the simulation so I could see the number its producing in raw form?

You could use XML Tools, available in the Resources here to read that variable.

It has been a long time since I've used them, but I think what you would use is called FlightDataRecorder.