P3D v4 Water Mask / Blend Mask / Gimp 2..I still don't get it

I'm trying to create a photoreal scenery of my home airport - I am a noob at doing this as you'll see below. I've got a good base .BMP to work from, but after watching several youtube videos and reading several written articles on the subject, I still don't get it.

This is my original BMP file. I would like to show the three small lakes (circled below) with the sim water:
Original.JPG

Below is my water mask and saved out as .tif file
Watermask.JPG

Below is my Blend mask:
Blendmask.JPG

After compiling in SBuilderX the resulting BGL looks like the below in the sim (P3Dv4)
In_Sim_After_Compile.JPG

Basically, I am seeing the auto gen from the sim in my 3 lakes instead of the water. I'm not sure if my water mask is hosed or my blend mask. I am using Gimp 2 as my editor. I have seen several videos, one the author is using Photoshop and the other is using Gimp 2, but neither one of them I can actually go verbatim to get what I want. It might be that I don't know enough about the Gimp layering when I create the masks. Any help would be appreciated.

HolgerSandmann

Resource contributor
Hi Robert,

anything painted in black in your blendmask will not be displayed as your photoreal source. Thus, removing the three black lake sections from your blendmask while leaving them in your watermask should give you the desired result, meaning displaying the lakes as they are in the image plus the P3D water surface effects. The only additional thing that might be needed is flatten polygons for those lakes (added in ADE) unless they also exist in the default landscape.

Cheers, Holger

Hi Robert:

As you are now exploring advanced aspects of terrain scenery, you may wish to review the tutorials below, if you haven't done so already.

IMHO, the best photo-real imagery creation / Autogen annotation scenery tutorials for starters is these (2) by Luis Feliz-Tirado:

Make photo-real ground textures

File Description: