FSX What's wrong with this plane?

Hello guys, I was doing a photoscene in gmax for FSX using the FS2004 gamepack, following this tutorial

http://www.simpilotnet.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=206&Itemid=32

But the plane isn't in the right position, let's say it's flipped and splitted in 2 polygons

Here the plane in gmax

And now the plane in FSX

I made the textures using .PSD then converted to .DDS using imagetool, the plane was Editable Poly (now I switched to Editable Mesh to see what happens and nothing)

Can somebody explain me what's wrong and how to fix it, please?

Last edited:
given that the image is rotated vertically, i would first check that both the diffuse and the alpha textures are flipped vertically before converting to .DDS, but i guess you already checked that? :p

yes, like repainting airplanes, when converting from Bmp to dds, this must be flipped verticaly before save, or you will get a psicodelic airplane,

Hello, this is my first time handling DDS textures, can somebody explain me how can I flip the texture, I mean, can flip the texture from Gmax or from Photoshop (I used this program for create the textures before converting them to DDS)??

Thank you :D

I made the textures using .PSD then converted to .DDS using imagetool, the plane was Editable Poly (now I switched to Editable Mesh to see what happens and nothing)

Can somebody explain me what's wrong and how to fix it, please?
Imagetool will take care of flipping the image automatically when converting to .DDS format. In GMAX I would think you can rotate when mapping in the UVW Editor (at least I can in 3ds Max).

Regards, Mike Mann

the photoshop approach:

from photoshop go to image--->image rotation--->flip canvas vertically and then save as .BMP

then do the same for your alpha texture

i then use DXTBMP to open the diffuse .BMP , then import alpha channel (use your alpha .BMP) and then save as DXT5.DDS texture.