P3D v4 XML handwriting or using ACE

I wouldn't use handwriting, because then you have to go through the trouble of finding an OCR that can detect your the letters of your handwritten code. :duck:

But to be more serious: I think the ACE tool is a good way to get familiar with HOW the XML syntax works, but sooner or later you'll find that you're waaaaay better of writing your own code directly in XML schema.

I use visual studio for everything code related: XML, C++ and AIR file.

Well I’m using VSCode for xml and all the “light coding” stuff and Regular vs for heavy (c# and c++ which I’m starting to learn). I rly recommend VSCode (light, you can put it on ssd for blazing fast performance and more). I think I would use ACE first and then start with xml. Of course I would like c++ but that just too difficult...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It took me 3 years to understand XML and write it properly and I'm still learning stuff daily...
At the other hand it took me perhaps 6 months or something more and I was able to write descent code in C#, based on that I would suggest you put your efforts in learning C. For what I see the future with new sims to come, XML might be of no good any-longer...but lets wait and see the new SDK of MSFS2020 we will know for sure...

Yeah it’s true but c++ (for P3d gauges) has many things that I can’t understand and the SDK doesn’t help that much... also if you learn c++ you will have to learn also D2D or GDI+ or D3D11. Which is another complicated step in the process of making gauges in c++.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

+1 for handwriting,

I learning C++/ GDI+ in 2 years along with, SDK, modeling, painting, flight model.
I'm no good with XML, can't build complex xml code, only simple xml function I can.

for gauge development xml have huge source and sample, easier to catch up.