• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

3D gauges code sample

Hello,

Some of you may know me as a gauge developer, I have a lot of experience in developing 2D gauges that can be used in 2D panels or in 3D panels, mapped on a texture.
Today, most people want to see the "steam gauges" in 3D, directly integrated with the 3D model. This is new to me and I would like to find a sample code that shows how to do this in C/C++. I know how to integrate XML code in a 3D model, but I hate coding in XML, coding in C++ is much easier for me.
So if you can show me a sample code for an altimeter for example, with the animation of 2 rotating needles, that would help. In my opinion, samples are the best way to learn :)

Thanks,
Eric

n4gix

Resource contributor
Eric, in a 3d model file you would only need to create animation entries for your needles and specify a single (L:var,unit) for each. Then your C gauge would simply supply input to the (L:var,unit).

For example, for a hundreds needle:
Code:
<Animation name="needle_altimeter_hundreds"  guid="2E99A67C-96CF-4bd1-9FFA-7CAB53671AA3"  length="360" type="Sim" typeParam2="needle_altimeter_hundreds" typeParam="AutoPlay" />

<PartInfo>
    <Name>needle_altimeter_hundreds</Name>
    <AnimLength>360</AnimLength>
    <Animation>
      <Parameter>
        <Code>
          (L:needle_altimeter_hundreds, number)
        </Code>
      </Parameter>
    </Animation>
  </PartInfo>
A thousand's needle would use a clone of the above, but with a different (L:Var, unit) of course. :cool:

JB3DG

Resource contributor
I would change the AnimLength setting to 100 and have the modeller calibrate the animation key frames to run from 0 to 100 and let the full 360 deg rotation be handled by the exported animation, not the modeldef script.

That way just setting the L var to say 50 for example will put the needle right where it should be for 50.