P3D v3 Am I A Professional?

Considering the fact, that Prepar3D is a licenced flight simulator used for professional pilot training, how correct is it to tell people something like this:
Suppose am a scenery developer for P3D, or an aircraft developer, payware of course. And if someone asks me about my relation with Aviation, can I say "I am a software developer. We make softwares used for professional pilot training"? Can we say this? I mean, of course we can, but, how correct and honest is this statement?
Would like to know your views :).

Well, I don't know about you... but I can most certainly say that. Software I've written is on certified trainers all over the globe.

Paul Domingue

Resource contributor
The question is; "Am I a professional?"
The answer is; if you get paid for your work then you are a professional in that work. If you are unpaid then you are an amateur.
I try to maintain my amateur standing. :cool:

I agree with mgh in that it really depends on the definition of "professional."

I would define "professional" along the lines that the commercial work (at least on a contractor or employee level) that you did has a direct but sizable influence in a certified training organization (or other institute) that is recognized by the government or some accreditation organization.

I think Paul is right. If you get paid for your work, you are a professional. If you don't, you are an amateur.
I can fly a real helicopter, following all the aviation rules but if I'm unpaid, I can't tell I'm a professional.
I'm an amateur. I can say that I perform at a professional level though.
And if you go for a job interview and you say that you have professional experience, you will be asked to show
a contract or give some reference of the company (=paid).

can I say "I am a software developer. We make softwares used for professional pilot training"? Can we say this? I mean, of course we can, but, how correct and honest is this statement?