FSXA Is there "Advanced Life" without SimVar?

I've been mission building for years…I cut my teeth on OPT then moved to FSXME.

However, I am fairly new to SimVar. It certainly does many great things via FSXME and I am totally hooked. (look for a free (obviously) SimVar intensive mission to come out on my website in a week or so.)

Of course, being an Engineer, I can't help but open the hood (bonnet for our British Common Wealth friends) and se what is going on.

To paraphrase an explanation I saw on SOH, it works similar to FSUIPC in that it takes commands or information and then translates them into FSX via SimConnect.

A look at the MS SDK for FSX Variables shows the following:

Notes (SimConnect)
Simulation variables are referenced from within SimConnect clients with the SimConnect_AddToDataDefinition call (see the SimConnect document for full details). When the units are listed as a structure or as a string, enter the empty string, or simply NULL, in the units parameter of this function call.

For example:

hr = SimConnect_AddToDataDefinition(hSimConnect, DEFINITION_1, "Kohlsman setting hg", "inHg");

Sooooo…what is this saying? Is it saying that if you include a line like the above…(in the Mission XML?)…for each "additional" variable you want to use, it will be duly passed by SimConnect?

In which case one wouldn't require SimVar to be running?

Not that I'm trying to kick SimVar to the curb…however, if I build a mission that only has one or two SimVar functions/variables, it would be a easier install for folks that don't currently run SimVar.

Last edited:
Notes (SimConnect)
Simulation variables are referenced from within SimConnect clients with the SimConnect_AddToDataDefinition call (see the SimConnect document for full details). When the units are listed as a structure or as a string, enter the empty string, or simply NULL, in the units parameter of this function call.

For example: