FSX New Panels & Question

Well all I just did another couple of 2D panels getting better at all this XML stuff would now class myself as beginner. Thanks again to rpmc and Spokes2112 who without their assistance I would be throwing my keyboard out of the window.

I know 2D is a bit old school however as I have two screens one above the other and a few other goodies I like them as it enables me to actually read the gauges and jump from vc to spot and still keep an eye what the aircraft I doing.

Any way panels below all gauges work and our duplicated on both.

Question is I know that most payware developers and moving away from 2D Cockpits I am just curious why as I created both of these in under a week I am not a good programmer or graphics guru however when the textures are already done for 3D model it doesn't take that long to create a good looking 2D Gauge. Panels bitmaps are just photos from different angles spliced together. So why cannot they provide them when they pretty much have all of the difficult already done. (granted a large turbo prop would take longer due to all the systems etc but you know I think the average user would forgo those and use VC one if he had a good VFR and IFR panel plus radio. throttle etc pop ups. This is not meant at the freeware designers as all the amazing stuff that is free has no right being critized . But when you spend a considerable junk of money for one aircraft I think they should give you the option.

I wold love to release these just to see how many downloads just for research however the textures are not mine per say so think I would be in breach of copyright. Plus a couple of Gauges GEM and Wx radar came with the aircraft so big no no there.

Piper PA-31

AC500 Commander

Cheers
Matt

ddawson

Resource contributor