FSX Eroding textures

Hi Folks.

I am new to aircraft painting and tried to simply recolour the panel lines on the FSX default Baron 58. I chose the one with the blue and white stripes. I backed it up first!! I am using DXT2bmp and Paint Shop Pro 2020. I made a not too bad job considering I am a beginner. Now, here's my problem. It took me several attempts back and forwards between DXT and PSP. Each time I noticed that the texture sheet was beginning to erode and become blotchy. I mean that the white aircraft was beginning to become patchy and blocky with pixels changing hue and colour. This shows up in the sim obviously and compared to the original aircraft it is really not nice. I'm thinking that it must be the fact that I reloaded it several times. Is there a technique to this? Should I be saving a pristine copy? Should I not go back and forwards between DXT and PSP? Should I just save in PSP between making changes to the texture? I am keen to make the best job I can as a beginner. Are there any good tutorials I should be looking at first?

Apologies for all the questions but I'm sure there will be a definitive answer to it all. I know I'm late to the party with aircraft painting but I thought that I would try something new seeing as how I am confined to quarters right now due to Covid-19.

Regards...Ken.

Pyscen

Resource contributor
Hello Ken

What format is the texture when editing (such as png, tga, and jpg, etc.)

tgibson

Resource contributor
Hi

As you suspected, the answer is to keep a pristine copy of the texture, and use that for editing. The ONLY time you convert to DXT format is the FINAL conversion to place into FS. The DXT copy never gets edited. The more you make the conversion the worse it will get. I keep a 24 bit BMP version for safekeeping and for any edits required.

Hello Doug and Tom.